{Recipe} My Version of a Vegan Turkish Breakfast – 3: Beetroot Hummus

This is the third post of My Vegan Turkish Breakfast Series, today I’m sharing the beetroot hummus recipe. Hummus is a typical Middle Eastern dish and recently it has gained popularity not only in Turkey but all over the world. Instead of the normal version of hummus which is popular, I wanted to try a new and colorful version. I got the inspiration from Nesrin’s Küche and made my own vegan version of it. You can serve it as a breakfast spread or as a dip for crackers. It was also a good match with my vegan simit poğaça, that I prepared.

Beetroot Hummus

 

Beetroot Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 260 g chickpeas (cooked)
  • 250 g beetroot (cooked)
  • 3 Tbsp soy yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp tahini
  • 1 tsp salt (or more to taste)
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon

  1. Add the chickpeas, beetroot, tahini, yogurt and lemon juice to a blender or food processor. Add the salt to taste.
  2. Process on low until the mixture starts to smooth out. Blend until smooth.
  3. You can serve it right away or chill in the fridge and keep the leftover in a jar in your fridge.

 

Beetroot Hummus

Enjoy the beetroot hummus with fresh bread and a Turkish tea!

Afiyet olsun and enjoy the recipe

Swanni

3 thoughts on “{Recipe} My Version of a Vegan Turkish Breakfast – 3: Beetroot Hummus

  1. Liebe Swanni,

    oh, ich habe mich gerade in deine Seite und die tollen Fotos verliebt!! Auch wenn ich kein Gluten essen darf, bekomme ich gerade ganz doll Hunger auf das tolle türkische Frühstück!!

    Liebe Grüße
    Anna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Liebe Anna,
      vielen Dank für deinen lieben Kommentar. Ich bin auch ein totaler Frühstücksfan und finde, dass es die wichtigste Mahlzeit des Tages ist 😉 ist es dir eigentlich schwer gefallen in Istanbul ein glutenfreies Frühstück zu bekommen, hast du einfach das Brot weggelassen? Dein Bericht ‘Glutenfrei durch Istanbul’ war auch total spannend für mich, ich habe noch nie so wirklich auf glutenfreie Optionen geachtet und fand es echt überraschend, dass es bei Güllüoğlu glutenfreies Baklava gibt!
      Gerade ist mir eingefallen, dass es in einem meiner Lieblingsrestaurants in Cihangir auch glutenfreie Pide, Lahmacun und Schokokuchen gibt (http://www.datlimaya.com/menu-1) vielleicht kommst du ja nochmal nach Istanbul?
      Alles Liebe
      Swanni

      Like

  2. Pingback: {Recipe} My Version of a Vegan Turkish Breakfast – 4: Kiwi Jam | Dilim Dilim Istanbul

Leave a Reply

